The Nephilim Book Tag

Hi! I’ve recently started getting into Shadowhunters again, so I decided I would do The Nephilim Book Tag. I believe this tag was originally created by emmmabooks, a booktuber you should definitely go and follow.

Anyway, let’s get started with the questions!

1. TMI or TID? (For those of you who haven’t read any books by Cassandra Clare, TMI stands for The Mortal Instruments and TID stands for The Infernal Devices. Although, if you haven’t read the books, I wouldn’t recommend reading further unless you don’t mind getting SPOILED.)

TMI. I think. I mean, I liked TMI’s storyline more than TID’s and I read TMI first, but there were some parts of TID that I thought were done better. For example, since Cassandra Clare wrote TMI first, her writing style improved in TID. Still, I guess I would choose TMI. It was what first introduced me to Cassandra Clare’s books.

2. Favorite male character?

Will Herondale. I know there are a lot of Jace Herondale lovers (admit it, he’s a Herondale) out there, but I like Will better. Let me explain myself before you get mad. I really don’t want to say this, but I think Jace is a bit… cliché. Don’t get me wrong—he’s not a bad character. I still like him. It’s just… He’s blond, incredibly good-looking, the best Shadowhunter, a rebel, and keeps his emotions hidden behind a “mask.” Those are, unfortunately, all YA clichés. And, Clary just happened to be the girl to break through his cold, tough exterior. Sigh. Yet another YA cliché. On the other hand, though Will Herondale is extremely good-looking as well, he’s not as cliché as Jace. Yes, he fell for Tessa, but still. He is not a cliché, super-tough guy. Well, he is a great Shadowhunter, but he’s sensitive and sweet at heart. And so quirky. I mean, who else would say their soul is mauve? He even said, “‘Bloodthirsty little beasts. Never trust a duck.'” Who else would say that? It’s adorable and hilarious. Will is totally afraid of ducks—he just won’t admit it. I love Will so much. 😀

Okay, okay, I know I’m only supposed to choose one favorite male character, but I just have to give Raphael an honorable mention. He’s sarcastic, which is one of my favorite things about him, dramatic, and I just love his interactions with Simon so much. 🙂

Okay, okay, okay, I know I already gave an honorable mention to Raphael, but I just have to give Magnus an honorable mention, too. He is just awesome. He is such an eccentric little warlock. Yeah, he’s tall, but I still call him an eccentric little warlock. He’s just great.

Okay, this is the last time. I might actually love Will, Magnus, and Raphael equally. I just can’t decide!

3. Favorite female character?

This is a hard one. Hm… Probably Isabelle Lightwood. She’s such a tough, awesome Shadowhunter. She’s better than a lot of the guys. She is totally badass. Yet, she’s still got a sensitive side. For her family, her friends, for Simon.

4. Favorite ship?

MALEC. Alec and Magnus. All the way. They are absolutely adorable together! I don’t have enough words to say how much I love them together. I just love them so much. They are 100% my OTP.

5. Least favorite ship?

Jessa. Jem and Tessa. I’m sorry to all the Jessa shippers, I really am, but I don’t like them together. I ship Wessa all the way. Will truly loved Tessa. Truly loved her. If only he hadn’t thought he was cursed, he would have told her he loved her sooner! Why Jem? Why did he have to propose to Tessa? WHY? I get that Jem fell in love with Tessa too, but I’m just so disappointed that in the last book Cassandra Clare still made Jessa the endgame. 😦 I understand why she did that. She wanted to make her fans happy by having Tessa marry Will, but also by having Tessa talk to Jem again at the end. Unfortunately, I wasn’t satisfied because she made it seem like ultimately, Tessa ends up with Jem. But Tessa married Will! I know this is completely selfish, but I wish somehow Will could’ve become immortal so he could be with Tessa forever. Okay. Whew. Rant over. Sorry about that.

6. What kind of Downworlder would you be?

Probably a warlock. I would seriously love to have magical powers. Plus, if I were a warlock, I would be able to hang out with Magnus. 🙂

On the other hand, being a faerie wouldn’t be too bad since they’re cunning. Although, perhaps I wouldn’t want to be untrustworthy. I think I’ll stick with being  warlock.

7. Favorite book?

City of Glass. I loved how it wrapped up the story so well since TMI was originally supposed to be a trilogy. Plus, Alec and Magnus were together in that book. Of course, City of Heavenly Fire is a very close second because it is the true end to the series (though I was kind of sad TMI was over after that book) and Sebastian was in it.

8. What Shadowhunter family do you belong in?

I would love to be a Herondale, but, unfortunately, I don’t think I would fit in. I’m definitely not as graceful as all Herondales, and I’m certainly not an amazing Shadowhunter. I’m not exactly the most coordinated. I’m actually quite like Clary. I love art (sketching) and I’m clumsy like her. Of course, she’s a way better Shadowhunter than I could be. Therefore, I guess I’d say I belong in the Fairchild family? Plus, Charlotte is awesome, too.

9. What would be your ideal weapon?

A sword? Dagger? Bow and arrow? Okay, probably not a sword. Way too heavy for me. Maybe I would want a dagger. Light and efficient. Although, a bow and arrow would be great too—just one issue. I’m not exactly great at archery. I’m not even good. Plus, archery is Alec’s thing. I couldn’t take that away from him. I’ll choose a dagger as my ideal weapon.

10. How did you get into Cassie’s books?

I’m actually not sure. Somewhere, somehow, I had heard about TMI’s first book, City of Bones, and went to my library and picked the book up. I was immediately hooked. There was no going back after that. I was completely immersed into the world of Shadowhunters. I also love how all her books have connections and involve characters from TMI, TID, and TDA (The Dark Artifices). And, I’m so glad she decided to write novellas that focus on Simon. I have yet to read them since I was waiting for the complete collection and now that I have it, I’m saving it for Christmas. I’m so excited. I’m also seriously going crazy waiting for Lord of Shadows (the second book in The Dark Artifices).

So, I would completely, utterly, totally recommend all of Cassandra Clare’s books if you haven’t read them yet.

What are you doing here, still reading my blog? Go and read her books! 🙂


Image Disclaimer: The image above does not belong to me.
2 thoughts on “The Nephilim Book Tag

Leave a Reply

