Winter Break TBR

Hi! The holidays are coming up, so I’ve got a pretty ambitious TBR (since most of the books I’ve chosen are pretty long). I just love the feeling of reading a book while drinking hot chocolate, surrounded by holiday decorations.

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

I am so excited to read this book. I’ve been putting it off until break because I want to be able to savor it. Plus, Simon’s finally getting his conclusion.

If you want to read this collection of novellas, but haven’t read any of Cassandra Clare’s other books, I suggest you read those first. This collection contains spoilers for the other books set in the same world, and you wouldn’t really understand the story without reading The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. TMI was Cassandra’s debut series and the TID books are the prequels, so you can start with either series (well, TID is a trilogy). You can find the synopses for the books on Goodreads.

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

As you can clearly see, this holiday season, I’m in the mood for reading about Shadowhunters and Downworlders. I love Magnus, so obviously I would read an entire book chronicling his life. You’re probably wondering why I hadn’t picked the book up earlier, as it came about quite a while ago—two years ago, I believe. Well, to be honest, I did try to read it once, but I got distracted by other books, so I ended up kind of forgetting about it. But, I am still interested in the book, so I’m hoping the second time I pick it up, I’ll read it all the way through and enjoy it.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling

I recently watched the movie, and let me just gush about it for a second. The movie was amazing. Newt Scamander is a fantastic character (get it?) who is just so quirky and loveable. His fascination and passion toward magical beasts really touched my heart. Oh, and Jacob was a character who made me laugh. I really want to try his baked goods. Mmm… They look so delicious! And don’t even get me started on how absolutely adorable Newt’s fantastic beasts were! 🙂 ❤

Okay. Back to the book. Since I loved the movie so much, I’m sure I’ll love the screenplay. I really want to get immersed in Newt’s world again. I’m also pretty sure J.K. Rowling makes comments throughout the script, explaining things, so I’m incredibly eager to pick the book up!

The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

I’d never heard of this book until I watched a booktuber’s December TBR. Since I’m in a fantasy mood right now, I thought the book seemed interesting. I looked it up on Goodreads, and the synopsis was really mysterious and intriguing. So, now I definitely plan on reading the book. Plus, there are a lot of very positive and enthusiastic reviews, so that motivates me to pick it up even more. I have a feeling it will not disappoint!

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

I heard a lot of people say how beautiful the book is, so obviously, I’m going to read it! A lot of people are saying the book is heart-aching, beautiful, intricate, and dark, and those are definitely aspects I look for in fantasy books (or any book). It’s also only 173 pages, so it’s a fairly quick read (although I might spend some time absorbing the book, based on what they reviews say). Can’t wait to start it!

Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

Since it is the holiday season, I decided I might as well read a Christmas-themed book! Especially if it’s a romance, as I love reading romances. Plus, I love John Green’s books, and I loved Lauren Myracle’s Internet Girls series. I’ve never read any of Maureen Johnson’s books, but I’ve heard of her books, and my friend who read 13 Little Blue Envelopes said she really liked it. So, why not get an introduction to her writing by reading a short romance? A lot of reviews on Goodreads say Maureen Johnson’s story is the best out of all of them. I know there are also a few negative reviews, but I’m hoping the book will pull through for me.


Image Disclaimer: The featured image (top of page) does not belong to me. All credit goes to Patricia Altner on Pinterest.
Leave a Reply

