Winter Biannual Bibliothon 2017 TBR

Hi!

The Winter Biannual Bibliothon is coming up on January 7, and this is the first time I’m “participating.” Obviously, I can’t enter the giveaway because I don’t have a Youtube channel, but I still thought it’d be fun to try and complete the challenges!

1. Read the group book: Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalo

So, as you guys can see from the challenge, the first book on my TBR is Stalking Jack the Ripper. I’ve recently become interested in reading psychological thrillers, so reading a book focused on Jack the Ripper, a never-identified serial killer from London in the 1800s, is definitely up my alley.

2. Throwback: Pick any past Bibliothon reading challenge

I chose the free choice/wildcard challenge from last year. I’m not sure which book I’ll choose, but I’ll either be reading Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst (a fantasy book where the main character is part of the LGBT community, which I’ve never heard of before) or Girl Online by Zoe Sugg, also known as the popular Youtuber Zoella. I really want to read Girl Online because it sounds interesting and I want to see if I like it or not, as it has mixed reviews.

3. Read a 2016 new release

Starflight by Melissa Landers. I’m excited to pick this one up. I’ve been wanting to read it for a while now, and just never managed to start it. Though the synopsis makes it sound like a cliché YA science fiction romance (I know, lots of genres there), I read the reviews and many say the book actually is nothing like that. Thank goodness. This just makes me even more excited!

4. Read a book a booktuber recommended

Well, I was going to read Stolen, but I started reading it this week (hey, I couldn’t help it), so I guess I’ll have to think of something else to read… (I’m planning on posting my first book review on Stolen.) I mean, some booktubers have recommended Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, but I’m just worried about the love triangle. I really can’t stand love triangles. A lot of them are unrealistic. Why would two guys allow even the person they like to spend time with the other person? It’s not exactly cheating, but it’s not right. Plus, more importantly, the main character never chooses the one I want them to end up with!

5. Read a book you were really excited for but never picked up

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I don’t know why I never picked it up. I really liked Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy (the Darkling was the best 🙂 ), and so many people said Six of Crows was just as good, if not better, so obviously now I have to read it.

6. Read a retelling

Heartless by Marissa Meyer. Do I even need to say anything? This book has been all over the booktubing and book blogging community. I absolutely adored The Lunar Chronicles, so I can’t wait to pick up Marissa Meyer’s newest book!

7. Read a diverse book

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova. I’ve heard so much about the diversity in this book. I’ve never read (or ever known about) any books that focus on Latin American culture and fantasy! I know this definitely has LGBTQ in it, which is definitely exciting for a fantasy book.

I can’t wait until this readathon begins! 🙂

Is anyone else participating? 


Image Disclaimer: The featured image (top of page) does not belong to me.

 

Leave a Reply

