Stolen by Lucy Christopher Book Review

51viczb9mtl

1280px-4_stars-svg

Goodreads Synopsis: It happened like this. I was stolen from an airport. Taken from everything I knew, everything I was used to. Taken to sand and heat, dirt and danger. And he expected me to love him.

This is my story.

A letter from nowhere.

Sixteen year old Gemma is kidnapped from Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian Outback. This wild and desolate landscape becomes almost a character in the book, so vividly is it described. Ty, her captor, is no stereotype. He is young, fit and completely gorgeous. This new life in the wilderness has been years in the planning. He loves only her, wants only her. Under the hot glare of the Australian sun, cut off from the world outside, can the force of his love make Gemma love him back?

The story takes the form of a letter, written by Gemma to Ty, reflecting on those strange and disturbing months in the outback. Months when the lines between love and obsession, and love and dependency, blur until they don’t exist – almost.

Okay, so let me start by saying this: This book made me rethink my thoughts on nature. I am not a big fan of the outdoors. In fact, I avoid going outside as much as I can. But, after reading this book, I’ve realized that there is beauty in nature too. Maybe there are bugs, and venomous snakes, and yes, there’s extremely harsh weather, but that doesn’t mean nature isn’t beautiful. Maybe when I actually decide to go outside (usually during the summer), I’ll actually appreciate the sun and the vibrant colors and the fresh air. Though, I do love how snow looks. And it’s snowing where I am, so it looks like a pristine, white landscape.

I also really want to go to the desert they were in (but only for two days because I would probably suffocate and burn in the heat). I just want to see the sand and experience the moment when the sun was setting that they experienced.

Now, to the actual critique of the novel. I loved the author’s description of the desert and nature in general and appreciated the fact that she actually brought up Stockholm Syndrome (unlike in some YA books where the main character falls for their attacker/kidnapper, or someone who treated them terribly—*cough* Obsidian *cough*—and no one brings up the fact that it could be Stockholm Syndrome). All in all, I enjoyed the story and loved learning about Ty (the kidnapper—I was quite fascinated with his twisted-ness and… different views and opinions) (he was an incredibly interesting character).

Reading about a kidnapping from the victim’s point of view really helped me understand more. I got to see the true struggles, both emotional and physical, the character faced.

The only issue I had with the book was that the main character, Gemma, was so squeamish. And whiny. Okay, I would be kind of squeamish too, but (slight spoiler) I wouldn’t start screaming and moving around a lot if I were specifically told not to move at all when there’s a snake in front of me.

Also, I felt Gemma was a bit generic. Kind of like all the other girls in YA realistic fiction books. (But, I suppose that was the point because she kept trying to tell Ty she wasn’t special.)

Lastly, about the writing. Or, at least, about what was described. I was glad that the author actually included daily occurrences in life like having to use the bathroom. Look—everyone does it. It’s no secret, so why do authors just decide to leave out that aspect in practically all realistic fiction books?

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars. I enjoyed it. I would recommend it, especially if you want to start to appreciate nature more (like me).

I know this review was kind of short, but I don’t want to ramble, and this is my first book review.

If you’ve read the book, what are your thoughts on it?

Since this was my first book review, feedback would be appreciated! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Stolen by Lucy Christopher Book Review

  1. I think this was a good review. There wasn’t any useless rambling, you just brought up your own opinions of the book. And for me the lenght doesn’t matter. As long as you tell your thoughts about the book, that’s fine and I have to say, after this review I just might go and read that book.

    Like

  2. I thought your review was really good. I have Stolen sitting on my TBR and have yet to read it but really hope to get to it soon. I honestly don’t care if someone rambles in their reviews (I do it a lot actually 😅) as long as you are being honest. I am looking forward to more reviews 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

