Girl Online by Zoe Sugg Book Review

zoe_sugg_-_girl_online

2000px-2-5_stars-svg

Goodreads Synopsis: I had no idea GirlOnline would take off the way it has – I can’t believe I now have 5432 followers, thanks so much! – and the thought of opening up to you all about this is terrifying, but here goes…

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family – and the panic attacks she’s suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever.

I was really excited to read this book. Zoella (Zoe Sugg) is a really popular Youtuber and people look up to her, so I thought it would be fun to pick up the book she wrote.

Which is why I was, unfortunately, disappointed.

We’ll start with the positives. 🙂

I loved the fact that Penny had a blog. It was really fun reading her posts and the comments that were left under her posts. It was also quite inspiring and made me feel warm and fuzzy inside that she had so many followers who cared about her. Her blog, GirlOnline, drives me to appreciate having my own blog, where I can share my thoughts on books with you guys.

Also, I loved that the book mentioned panic attacks, as teens (and adults) suffer from them, and it is important that people don’t think they’re not as “serious” because they are.

(Slight Spoiler) Penny had to deal with hate from people online as well, so I’m glad the book addressed hate on the internet and a bit of cyberbullying.

Now, we have to get negatives. 😦

Something you should know about me: I cannot stand insta-love. AT ALL.

This case of insta-love was pretty terrible. I was really disappointed because I thought the romance could have been adorable and sweet—and yes, it was, but it was also extremely cliché. 

See, Penny and Noah (her love interest) make each other feel safe. The classic “no-one-makes-me-feel-safe-but-somehow-you-do” syndrome in a lot of YA books:

“There’s something about Noah that makes me feel safe to be myself.” 
Then, the always touching “the-one-person-I-can-truly-connect-to.”
” ‘ We spent most of the day together and we really connected. ‘ “
And finally, the best of all: “the-moment-we-fall-in-love-after-knowing-each-other-for-less-24-hours.”  

They’ve been together for “a whole one hour, fifty-seven minutes.” Then this happens. 

“There are some people you officially fall in love with, within seconds of meeting them.”

And after knowing each other for basically one week (maybe less): 

” ‘ I think I like you so much it might even be love too. ‘ “
In between, there are the cheesiest and most cliché scenes, including the ever-wonderful:
Moonlit Picnic.
The romance was incredibly unrealistic. It wasn’t as cute as it was supposed to be because many of the conversations they had were filled with extremely cheesy and cliché lines.

The romance basically took over the book, which wouldn’t have been too bad if it hadn’t been for the cliché-ness.

Whew. Thanks for listening to me rant.

I do not mean to offend lovers of this book or Zoella. Just had to let off some steam about the romance. I just really don’t like insta-love because it makes the book unrealistic and kind of ruins the effect.

Plus, the issues they had were quite cheesy and cliché too, unfortunately.

Therefore, I gave this book 2.5 stars out of 5.

But, you could still read this book if you want to.

Everyone has different tastes, so just because this book wasn’t my favorite doesn’t mean it can’t be yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

