Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch Book Review

173991602000px-2.5_stars.svg.png

Goodreads Synopsis: A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

I tried. I really did. I don’t DNF a lot of books, but this was one of the books that I actually couldn’t finish. There are only two things (normally) that put me off a book: a bad plot or terrible romance.

A lot YA fantasy books have romance, and I’m okay with that. I adore a great (especially slow-burning) romance. I can put up with a slightly cliché romance. The two things about romance that I cannot stand are insta-love and love triangles. Now, it depends on the love triangle. For example, I thought the love triangle in The Infernal Devices trilogy was a good love triangle. Love triangles that are either extremely cliché, ridiculous, or both are what bother me.

Unfortunately, that was the case with Snow Like Ashes. This book had a great plot. I was enjoying the book a lot before the love triangle was introduced. In fact, I was absolutely immersed in the world and story. When the romantic tension between Meira and Mather grew more prominent, I didn’t mind because they didn’t spend too much time being mushy gushy.

Then, we were introduced to Theron. This is where I bang my head on the wall *insert image of me doing that here*.

Not only was there a love triangle, but there was insta-love. My two biggest pet-peeves when it comes to YA romance. Theron himself wasn’t too bad (other than seemingly being obsessed with being incredibly bulked up like the Hulk), but the insta-love was terrible. Don’t even get me started.

Then, the love triangle was even worse. Of course the two guys have to get extremely possessive. I CANNOT STAND when guys get so possessive. It is absolutely unnecessary and ridiculous. I was ready to jump into the book myself and shake some sense into Mather and Theron. I tried to push on, but just couldn’t. With the direction it seemed to be going in, I had the feeling that I would have to endure an entire book’s worth of horrible manly possessiveness.

I could be wrong. I didn’t finish the book, so I don’t know what really happens in the end, but if the romance continues to be like that, I can’t continue. Even if the story is absolutely amazing, I will perpetually be thinking about the awful love triangle.

I don’t think I can continue the series since I couldn’t even get through the first book, which I’m very disappointed about because I had really high hopes for this trilogy.

Of course, everyone has different opinions, so maybe you’ll be able to dismiss the love triangle and enjoy the book.

Rating: 2.5 Stars

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch Book Review

Leave a Reply

