Most Disappointing Books of 2016

disappointedFirstly: I know, this list is quite late. I just wasn’t sure if I wanted to post this in case some of you guys wouldn’t be too happy with me, as at least two of the books on the list are ones I know many people loved.

Secondly: When I say disappointing, I do not mean I did not like the book. Well, a few of these books I actually didn’t like, but not all. I’m just saying I was disappointed because I thought I would love the book, but ended up not actually liking it as much as I thought I would.

So, with that said, let’s get on to the list!

1. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch  

I really thought I would love this book. It was high fantasy, had romance, and a super badass female protagonist. But, then I found out there was an awful love triangle. I tried to continue reading, but could not ignore it any longer. I mean, I’m not exactly proud, but I ended up not finishing the book. I know many people loved this book and the rest of the series, but I just couldn’t go on.

If you want to see more detailed thoughts on this review, then you can find my full review here. Or, you can also find my review on Goodreads.

2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Now, I am all for a light contemporary with a cute (sometimes even slightly cliché) romance. But, for some reason, this book just didn’t work for me. I didn’t really like the writing style and the romance was too angsty for my taste. I am considering giving her other books a chance, but I’m not sure if they’re going to be as angsty as this one…

3. The Siren by Kiera Cass

I am so disappointed in this book. Kiera Cass’ The Selection series was my favorite go to romance series. It wasn’t exactly a guilty pleasure read, but they were really easy to get through and though there was a love triangle, it was quite obvious (at least to me) who the main character was going to end up with. So, I was very excited to pick up The Siren. And when I finally read it, I was, very unfortunately, hit with extreme insta-love. And the worst kind. The type where the main character has “I’ve-never-connected-with-anyone-before-but-you’re-one-person-I-connect-with-and-truly-belong-with” syndrome. I’m surprised I actually finished the book, but, then again, I skimmed through quite a few pages. Furthermore, I felt like the characters weren’t really too developed. I mean, they had personalities, but they were, in a way, surface and cliché personalities. The main character was quiet. Her friend was the “party girl.” Why, Kiera Cass? (Also, it says a lot if the ocean was my favorite “character.”)

4. Firelight by Sophie Jordan

I read this mainly because it was about dragons and they are my favorite mystical creature (I read this for the Summer Biannual Bibliothon). I mean, I didn’t hate this book, but the writing style was a bit too… simple (I can’t think of a better word to explain it). Also, the romance bothered me. I know. A lot of books disappoint me because of the romance. But, I am an avid romance reader if the romance is actually good and doesn’t involve insta-love or a terrible love triangle. This book didn’t exactly have a love triangle, but it did include the ever-cliché: “I’m-supposed-to-hate-you-but-I-love-you” trope. Which bothered me.

5. The Thousandth Floor by Katherine McGee

I love a good dose of drama, but too much will drive me nuts. And this book was filled with so much drama that I was practically drowning in it. And the majority of it was caused by lack of communication. I cannot speak further or else this will turn into a long rant about communication in YA books.

6. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera 

I was so sad that I didn’t like this book as much as I thought I would. So many people loved it. And yes, the message was important and the story was meaningful and quite dark (which is something I usually enjoy), and yes, I appreciated what the book related to others. I was even moved by some events that occurred in the book. But, for a very odd reason, I just could not get into the writing style. It wasn’t annoying or anything, and the writing itself was good, but I just did not like the style, which is the one thing that caused me to enjoy the book much less. The writing style gave me an odd feeling I cannot explain. I do want to pick up his newest book though and I hope I will enjoy the writing style more this time around.

7. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Sigh. I won’t talk about its similarities to Twilight because honestly, that wasn’t what bothered me so much. What bothered me was the fanfiction-y writing and the bad romance. If I’m being blunt, I think the writing was like a fanfiction piece posted on a fanfiction website. And that wasn’t the worst part. The love interest was awful. He was a “bad boy” who treated the main character terribly, yet she still fell for him anyway. He alienated her, I’m pretty sure physically pushed her away a few times, and verbally abused her. Yes, she retaliated, but that does not make up for what he did. And yes, sometimes he showed his love, that that certainly does not make up for his horrible actions. What kind of message is this book giving to young girls? That if you slap a guy and yell at him a few times for what he’s done to you, then you guys will eventually live happily ever after? I hated the guy with a passion.

Whew. So, that’s the end of my list that included a few rants.

Anyone agree with me? What are disappointing books you have read?

 

 

Leave a Reply

