The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

unpopopniotag1

I know this tag is pretty old, but I was inspired to do this, so here it is!

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like. 

I didn’t really enjoy Anna and the French Kiss. A lot of booktubers and book bloggers spoke about how amazing it was and though it was cheesy it was super easy to get through, but it was a bit too lovey-dovey, soppy, and cliché for me. Also, I just wasn’t a big fan of the writing style and that is what often drives me away from books.

Furthermore, I know I’m only supposed to talk about one book, but I just want to say that I also really dislike The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. It was so boring (at least to me) and slow-paced. I didn’t like the writing style of that book either. Bet you’re seeing a trend, aren’t you?

2. A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love. 

I wouldn’t say everyone seems to hate the Precious Stone trilogy, but I have read many reviews that say the writing was elementary and the main character was whiny and talked like she was much younger than her age.

Though the main character’s mental age was questionable, I found the series really enjoyable because all the books were incredibly quick reads and I loved the twists in the story and the action. I thought the plot was intricate and loved the storyline, so I was able to (sort-of) ignore the silliness of the main character (other than the times where she was having some sort of conflict with her love interest—those were just ridiculous).

Anyway, I still adored the series despite its flaws.

3. A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did not want them to end up with or an OTP that you don’t like.

Mia and Colt from The Witches of the Glass Castle series. Man, I hated both of them. Mia because she was needy and very (very, very) stupid at times and Colt because he’s the most cliché “bad-boy-turned-good-because-of-a-girl” ever and I just despised his personality. Also, first he treats a girl terribly, and then he warms up to her because she’s just sooo alluring. Ugh.

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for. 

Well, I used to read contemporary books all the time, but now I normally reach for fantasy. So, since contemporary is a pretty popular book genre, I don’t really read it that much—mostly because many of them are romances and a lot of them have clichés that I can’t really stand.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like. 

I really don’t like Étienne St. Clair. I mean, I get that he belongs with Anna and everything, but I felt he was neglectful of his actual girlfriend as soon as he met Anna and it certainly wasn’t a good idea to make out with another girl in public when he was still technically together with his girlfriend! If he really was a good guy, he would have treated his girlfriend the correct way by breaking up with her by explaining things and not just neglecting her and kissing someone else in front of her.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

I want to say Stephanie Perkins—okay, yeah, I’m going to say Stephanie Perkins. I think her books are way too cheesy for me.

Also, an honorable mention to Lauren Oliver. Her book Delirium was really predictable and cliché, so I don’t think I’ll be picking up any of her other books anytime soon (at least any other books in that series). (Though I did read her book Panic and it wasn’t too bad.)

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. 

Where do I start? Let’s see…

The worst of them are insta-love and love triangles (UGH I cannot stand love triangles at all).

But, here’s more: bad boys, “special snowflakes,” “the Chosen One,” good guys always winning, there being “good guys” and “bad guys” in the first place, and the characters always acting as if they can’t live without their love interest (*cough* Bella Swan *cough*).

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading. 

The Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead. I loved her Vampire Academy series, but I don’t think I want to read the spin-off series because I was never really a fan of Sydney or Adrian.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie,” but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

There hasn’t been a movie (yet) that was better than the book, but, though I absolutely loved the book The Fault in Our Stars, I also loved the movie (I sobbed so much reading the book and watching the movie).

Thanks for reading! 🙂


Image Disclaimer: The image above does not belong to me.
Leave a Reply

